International Sar Agreements

The Arctic Search and Rescue Agreement (officially the Arctic Air and Air Search and Rescue Cooperation Agreement) is an international agreement between Arctic Council member states – Canada, Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway, Russia, Sweden and the United States – on May 12, 2011 in Nuuk, Greenland. [1] The treaty coordinates the International Search and Rescue Organization (SAR) in the Arctic and defines the territory of each state`s sar responsibility. [1] In view of the competing territorial claims in the Arctic, the treaty provides that “the delimitation of search and rescue zones is not related to the delimitation of a border between states or their sovereignty, sovereignty or jurisdiction, nor does it interfere with that situation.” The Government of Canada is the custodian of the treaty. It came into force on 19 January 2013, after being ratified by each of the eight signatory states. The Arctic Search and Rescue Agreement is the first binding agreement negotiated under the auspices of the Arctic Council. The treaty reflects the growing economic importance of the Arctic as a result of improved accessibility due to global warming. [2] [1].

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.